Found Music/words — Korngold

This is an aria from Erich Korngold’s opera Die Tote Stadt (the City of the Dead), and it is beautiful poetry even more powerfully set.

Here is a translation (thank you Hank Hammert, although with some revisions).

My longing, my delusion,
It brings back my dreams.
In the dance I once obtained it,
Now I’ve lost my happiness.

While dancing on the Rhein
in the moonlight,
she confessed to me, in her blue eyes an intimate glance.

Confessed to me with her pleading words:
O stay, don’t go far away,
preserve your homeland
peaceful, thriving, happy.

My longing, my delusion,
It brings back my dreams.
The magic of things far away
throws a brand into my soul
The magic of the dance lured me,
and I was then Pierrot.
I followed her, my wonderful sweetheart,
and learned under tears to kiss.
Ecstasy and misery,
Delusion and happiness:
Ah, this is a clown’s destiny.

My longing, my delusion,
It brings back my dreams.

Leave a Reply

