Written Words – Writing You

sometimes I write you
not a letter but fiction

and I don’t know if…
it’s because I like you
or because I worry

sometimes I write us
because the littlest exchange
is fodder for inspiration
and it’s only later
I think of the right thing to say
to capture the moment and
extend it

or maybe in the moment there are a hundred distractions
and I write them all away
slowly
as if the world revolved around my words
and sometimes it does…

sometimes I write you
because saying something isn’t safe
so I whisper it to the you I’m closest to
the one I’ve created

and if I’ve stylized the me I write
then I’ve also given you the life I want
feel free to reject the gift
it’s only fiction
but when I write you, you always listen…

sometimes I write you
because I like it better
it lets me dream in color

 

Leave a Reply

