Written Words – not a sermon, just a thought (I)

My sister was giving me a hard time about not blogging so much lately, and it seems like there is a rambunctious family blogging competitor, so I thought maybe I’d get back on the horse with some thoughts from today:

I’m thinking about that song lyric “you never know what you’ve got until it’s gone” but not in the angsty, break-up way. More in a, I’m starting to appreciate something type of way.

What I’m thinking about is dating while going to school. I always thought dating in college, or grad school, was great because of the proximity. A year of long-distance, smooth as it might have gone, did little to persuade me of this opinion. But now that I’m back in proximity with my girlfriend, I’m wondering if there is something else going on as well.

I wonder if dating while in school is great because your life has so much overlap. Think about it: you’re going to class together, you have the same friends, you’re doing the same stuff. That means you’re sharing the same things everyday.

I miss that. But I’m not sure what the grown-up version of it is. Working at the same office? Having similar jobs? I don’t know, but I think it would be cool to have that kind of overlap again.

Not a sermon, just a thought.

Leave a Reply

