Written Words – Hyde Park

What if I told you I didn’t have an axe to grind?
Would you (still) believe me?
What if I told you I didn’t have a poem to write?
Would you (still) read me?

Ask me what’s the key to writing,
but I deconstruct the sentence,
because if my life is evidence
it’s writing that’s the key

if something’s on my mind
I write to get it off it
like clearing my throat when coughing
or cooking with the ingredients all in
so I can sample my words and
taste what it is I’m creating

It’s like a pot made of clay
for putting my troubles away
so every time I write a poem
I place my troubles in a page

Leave a Reply

