Written Words – “Who are you?”

So I went to this big New Years Eve party in Georgetown, right on The Waterfront.  Got all dressed up, nice shoes, crisp shirt, slick sweater-vest, even tied my tie in that special way that makes the knot look bigger, my “fasion advisor” explained to me that’s what you’re suppose to do with a sweater vest.

We head down, and it’s an open bar.  Me and my group are mingling, and it doesn’t take long for me to be chatting up a cute lil 5-7 blonde.  It’s about 10pm, still relatively early in the evening and she, quite innocently I’ll add, asks “So who are you?”.

I quickly go to respond that I’m a golf professional, and the director of Junior Golf at the University of Maryland Golf Course.  I don’t get through the word “professional” before she interrupts me saying “No, no, no, that’s what you do, I want to know who you are.”

I awkwardly laughed, and fumbled through a few phrases that don’t constitute actual words.  Evidently I wasn’t going to impress her by telling her I worked with kids, or had the word “director” next to my name.  She just stared, gently, but clearly interested in what I actually had to stay.  I whipped out my phone to check the time, 10:07, the bar had only been open for an hour, seemed a little early in the evening to start baring my soul to a relative stranger.  Especially since I really didn’t have an answer.

I politely excused myself and left the cute blonde to chat with her friend and my wingman.

“Bartender! I need a shot of Yager, and a Red Bull & Vodka please”

I was going to need some help answering her question.

True story.

Leave a Reply

